How did this happen?

Apparently the 2008’s started to use a different type of piston ring and some bikes would burn oil. Some reports claim as much as 3 quarts per 1000 miles. That is a shit load of oil for a single cylinder engine. I could be wrong but I don’t even think a 2-stroke would use that much oil in 1000 miles. Now does that excuse me from forgetting to check my oil and screaming down the highway unaware of the meltdown happening 8″ below my balls? Of coarse not but I like to try to make myself feel better by finding other reasons besides my complete ignorance.

Tonight I ordered the Schnitz Racing 685 piston kit from Eagle Mikes. Tomorrow I will order the used cylinder head that has been shimmed for me. Hopefully everything will arrive in a timely manner and the mechanical comedy will ensue.

2 responses to “How did this happen?

  1. My 2008 did the exact same thing at 3500 miles. Exhaust cam journal bolts were loose on the right side. The oil was changed in my bike at 500, 1000, and 1500 miles and was full of oil when it seized. The failure bent the exhaust valves and sheared the cam gear off the exhaust cam. This is a common failure with the 2008 KLR but apparently Kawasaki seems to think this is normal.

    • I keep hearing about how many people this has happened to. I have also heard of people asking the dealers about it and they say they have never heard of it. Typical dealer bullshit.

Leave a Reply

